Navy redeploys 75 senior officers

The Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Usman Jibrin, has approved the redeployment of 75 senior officers to man various commands in the Nigerian Navy.
The redeployment was announced in a statement issued in Abuja on Wednesday by Commodore Kabir Aliyu, the Director, Naval Information.
The statement said the redeployment cuts across naval personnel in the Navy Headquarters, Defence Headquarters and tri-service institutions.
The exercise involved 29 Rear Admirals, 28 Commodores and 18 Captains.
Those affected, according to the statement, included Rear Adm. E.O. Ogbor, the Chief of Policy and Plans, Naval Headquarters, who is now Chief of Administration, Defence Headquarters.
Also involved in the posting was Rear Adm. S.A. Akinwale, the Director of Logistics at Defence Headquarters.
Akinwal is now the new Director, Project Implementation, Monitoring and Evaluation Directorate, Naval Headquarters.
Similarly, the statement said Rear Adm. A.O. Ikioda was appointed the Chief of Policy and Plans, while Rear Adm. I.E. Ibas is the new Chief of Logistics.
Also, Rear Adm. I.A. Oyagha is now the Chief of Training and Operations at the Naval Headquarters
The statement added: “Rear Adm. S.H. Usman moves from the Central Naval Command to the Logistics Command as Flag Officer Commanding, while Rear Adm. P.A. Agba is the new Flag Officer Commanding, Central Naval Command, Yenagoa.
“Rear Adm. O.C. Medani is the new Flag Officer Commanding, Eastern Naval Command, Calabar.
“Other senior officers redeployed included Rear Adm. I.A. Ajuonu, Group Managing Director /CEO, Navy Holdings Limited, and Rear Adm.O.E. Ekwe, Admiral Superintendent, Naval Dockyard Limited.”
It further indicated that Rear Adm. D.O. Osuofa is now Navy Secretary, while Rear Adm. A.B. Afolayan will serve as Director, Medical Services.
The statement also said Rear Adm. O.P. Ozojiofor is the Director of Training at the Defence Headquarters, while Rear Adm. A. Shettima is the Managing Director, Naval Hotels and Suites Limited.
Others affected by the redeployment include Rear Adm. O.U. Emele as Director of Logistics, Defence Headquarters and Rear Adm. A. Johnson as Commander, Fleet Support Group (West).
Rear Adm. L.O. Iwuoha is the Admiral Superintendent, Naval Doctrine and Assessment Centre, and Rear Adm. H.O. Ngonadi is the Director of Development at the Defence Headquarters.
Rear Adm. T.G. Epelle is the new Director, Medical (Admin/Logistics), Defence Headquarters, while Rear Adm. E.G. Ofik, is the Chief Staff Officer, Western Naval Command.
Rear Adm. S.E. Ogoigbe is now Deputy Commandant, Armed Forces Command and Staff College, Jaji while Rear Adm. A.L. Akintola is posted to Naval Shipyard, Port Harcourt as Admiral Superintendent.
Also, Rear Adm. J.K. Ango is now the Director of Plans, Defence Headquarters, while Rear Adm. A.A. Osinowo is now the Chief Staff Officer, Headquarters, Naval Training Command, Apapa, Lagos.
Also, Rear Adm. R.O. Osondu is now the Chief Staff Officer, Logistics Command, Oghara, while Rear Adm. J.O. Oluwole is the Director of Equipment, Standardisation and Harmonisation, Defence Headquarters.
Rear Adm. F.D. Bobai, the statement added, is now the Chief Staff Officer, Headquarters Eastern Naval Command.
“The new Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer, Naval Engineering Services Limited is Rear Adm. A.O. Odeh, while Rear Adm. S.A. Ahmadu is now the Commander, Central Pay Office, Apapa, Lagos.”
The statement also said Commodore O.E. Uwadiae is the Commander, NNS BEECROFT, while Commodore E.G. Ochai is the Commander, NNS PATHFINDER.
It further said Commodore B.T. Yusuf has been appointed as the Director of Naval Accounts, adding that the effective dates of the appointments range from February 14 to 17.