The Nigerian Online Newspaper

INEC inaugurates planning committee for 2019 general elections

The Independent National Electoral Commission on Thursday inaugurated an Election Project Plan Committee, charged with the responsibility of planning for the 2019 general elections.
The commission disclosed this in a statement issued by Prince Adedeji Soyebi, its National Commissioner and Chairman, Information and Voter Education Committee, after its weekly meeting in Abuja on Thursday.
The statement also disclosed that the Commission at the meeting also approved the 2017- 2021 Strategic Plan for immediate implementation, following its validation by stakeholders.
The inaugurated committee, chaired by a National Commissioner, Prof. Okechukwu Ibeanu, and Ndeche Okechukwu, Director, Planning and Monitoring, as Secretary, is to coordinate all departments and state inputs into planning for the elections.
The committee is also to monitor the performance of the two-year budget for the general elections, identify gaps and advise the commission appropriately.
The committee is to produce a comprehensive, cost estimate Election Project Plan for the commission’s approval.
The committee is also charged with the responsibility to ensure the integration of the EPP and the EMS for effective implementation and monitoring.
It is also expected to provide quarterly progress report on implementation of the EPP up to the Election Day.
The statement quoted INEC Chairman, Prof. Mahmoud Yakubu, while inaugurating the committee, as asking its members to immediately devote themselves to ensuring that the 2019 general elections were better than the previous ones.
Yakubu also charged the committee members to commence the implementation of the Strategic Plan 2017-2021 and to ensure the actualisation of all its envisaged goals.
He stated that with the inauguration of the committee and the approval of the Strategic Plan, the commission “is now in an election mode”.
It also quoted the Chairman of the Committee pledging that members would immediately devote themselves to the onerous task of making the 2019 general elections a success.
Ibeanu added that the members regarded the assignment as a great honour and privilege for which no stone will be left unturned to achieve the commission’s goals.
Members of the committee are: National Commissioners Dr. Adekunle Ogunmola, Abubakar Nahuche, Prof. Bolade Eyinla, Chief Technical Adviser to INEC Chairman and Prof. Mohammad Kuna, Special Adviser to the Chairman.
The members also include: Rotimi Oyekanmi, Chief Press Secretary to INEC Chairman; Prof. Abubakar Momoh, Director, General Electoral Institute; AT Yusuf, Director, Operations; and Chidi Nwafor, Director of ICT.
Others are: lro Gambo, Director, Voter Registration; Aminu ldris, Director, EPM; Oluwatoyin Babalola Director, Legal Services; Ruth Endeley, Director, Estate and Works;
Oluwole Osaze-Uzi, Director, Voter Education and Publicity; and Kenneth Ukeagu, Director Procurement.