Browsing: Femi Gbajabiamila

Gbajabiamila particularly called out the Minister of State, Petroleum Resources, Timipre Sylva; Minister of Finance, Budget and National Planning, Zainab Ahmed; Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria, Godwin Emefiele; and the Chief Executive Officer of the Nigerian National Petroleum Company Limited (formerly Group Managing Director of the defunct Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation), Melee Kyari; as well as the Managing Director of Petroleum Pipeline Marketing Company, Isiaku Abdullahi, among others.

The President sends warm greetings to the family, friends and associates of the political leader, whom he describes as “patriotic, honest and deserves respect’’.

Sanwo-Olu, who is also celebrating his 57th birthday Saturday, described his birthday mate, Gbajabiamila, as an exceptional, committed, passionate, visionary and focused parliamentarian and politician, who has used his office as Speaker to provide exemplary and progressive leadership in the House of Representatives.

Gbajabiamila is the second longest-serving member of the House of Representatives in the history of Nigeria behind only  Nicholas Mutu of Bomadi/Patani Federal Constituency (Delta State) who has been a member of the green chamber since 1999.

Section 84(12) of the Electoral Act 2022, which was signed by the President, Major General Muhammadu Buhari (retd.), provides: “No political appointee at any level shall be a voting delegate or be voted for at the convention or congress of any political party for the purpose of the nomination of candidates for any election.”