AMAA 2018: Organisers call for entries for continental movie awards

Nominations will be announced on April 2018, while the 14th Edition of the AMAA will be held on June 2, 2018 and televised globally. 

The countdown of the 14th Africa Movie Academy Awards, the Premier Africa Film Awards, has begun and the Africa Film Academy cordially invites filmmakers to submit their feature, short, animation and documentary works for consideration in nearly 30 categories of the awards.
The deadline for all submissions is January 30, 2018.
A late entry deadline is February 14, 2018.
Submission is on Film Freeway and in any of the AMAA offices across the continent.
Nominations will be announced on April 2018, while the 14th Edition of the AMAA will be held on June 2, 2018 and televised globally.
Only films produced and released between June 2016 and January 2018 may be entered for this celebration of African cinema.
The Africa Movie Academy Awards was founded in 2005.
Mostly held annually in Nigeria, the AMAA is without doubt the most prestigious and glamorous African entertainment industry event of its kind on the continent.
Evolving from a one day event – televised live – to an annually chronicled African event, the AMAA is now an established engagement platform for filmmakers, industry professionals and all creative industry stakeholders.
The primary aim of the AMAA is to facilitate the development and the showcasing of the social relevance of African film and cinema.
The awards are presented to recognize and honour excellence in professional filmmaking in the African film industry and the African Diaspora.
Over the years, the award presentation has been attended by numerous international media representatives, Hollywood celebrities, Nigerian politicians, other African politicians, journalists, film industry professionals, and actors and actresses from across Africa.
The 2017 African Movie Academy Awards took place on July 15, 2017 at the Eko Hotels Convention Centre in Lagos State, Nigeria.
The exciting and glitzy event was hosted by notable Nollywood actress Nse Ikpe Etim.
Awards were presented in about 30 categories, including best animation, best Diaspora feature, Best Africa Film in the Diaspora and Best Diaspora Short Film Awards, inclusive of Caribbean Shorts and Caribbean features, achievement in make-up, achievement in production design, and achievement in editing, achievement in screenplay, best actor and actress in a supporting role, and more.
The award for best African actor of the year went to Jahwar Soudani for his lead role in the Tunisian movie “Last of Us”, while the Congolese born actress, Vero Tshanda, won the best actress for her lead role in the Senegalese movie, Félicité, by Allan Gomis.
“Felicite” emerged the biggest winner of the night and won the AMAA 2017 Best Film and lots more.
Other winners included Akin Omotoso, who won the best director award; Nkem Owoh who received the Lifetime Achievement Award; and “76”, which won the Lagos State Best Nigerian film award.
The Best Diaspora Short was a joint award and the award was presented to the short films titled  ’90 DAYS’ (USA) and ‘KBELA’ (BRAZIL).
Disney’s “Queen of Katwe” won the award for Achievement in Costume Design and the Best Young/ Promising Actor award, which went to Medina Molanga.
Filmmakers must ensure that for the 2018 edition of the award, each completed entry form must be accompanied by all the supporting materials listed on the submission forms, including the synopsis of the film, the list of credits, marketing stills of the film, filmographies of the directors and producers, copies of the film in 3DVDS or a hard drive plus a compulsory online submission via vimeo/we transfer and proof of the right to submit.
All films must indicate the year of copyright.
Importantly, the Africa Film Academy will not accept any film that exceeds the 120-minute run as a feature or a short film that is longer than 40 minutes.
International submissions can be made on: and all submissions also on
To stay up to date with the latest information regarding the 14th African Movie Academy Awards or for nomination submissions, visit the African Movie Academy Awards Website at
Instagram: @amaawards_ | Twitter: @amaawards | Facebook: African Movie Academy Awards
Office Address: 9A Raymond Njoku, South West – Ikoyi, Lagos, Nigeria
For further information, please contact our liaison offices/AMAA Regional Coordinators: East Africa Region, Ogova Ondego – [email protected].
West Africa Region, Judith Oluwole – [email protected].
AMAA is an African celebration of film and African filmmakers.