Browsing: Senate

Leading among erring agencies are Nigerian Port Authority (NPA)- N68.87bn; Bureau of Public Enterprise (BPE)- N8.84bn; National Health Insurance Scheme (NHIS) – N4.53bn; Ministry of Niger Delta- N1.77bn; Federal Mortgage Bank – N369 million; Code of Conduct Bureau (CCB)- N995 million; Ministry of Petroleum Resources – N821.9 million; National Agency for Drugs Administration and Controls (NAFDAC)- N1.88bn.

According to Kalu, the recent defections of Governor Bello Matawalle, Senators Sahabi Yau (Zamfara North), Lawali Anka (Zamfara West), Hassan Gusau (Zamfara Central) and Peter Nwaoboshi (Delta North) from the Peoples Democratic Party to the APC, is a clear indication that the party is waxing stronger.

The Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, gave the hint in his remark during plenary following a request by the Appropriations Committee Chairman, Senator Jibrin Barau, for time to allow the Joint Committees of the Senate and House of Representatives come up with a harmonised report on the supplementary appropriations bill.