Tambuwal, Amaechi, Aregbesola, Juwah others for honours at ADA 2014

Governor Rauf Aregbesola
Nigeria had an estimated broadband penetration of about 6 per cent in 2012.
If the country is to become the ICT Hub of Africa in no distance future, the Federal and State Governments must initiate targeted actions to improve the accessibility, availability and affordability of high speed broadband for the populace, both rural and urban Nigeria.
Owing to this, the issue will be a part of the focus at this year’s Africa Digital Forum and Africa Digital Awards.
The theme for this year’s event is: “Broadband: Oxygen for a Digital Economy.”
This event will parade the most celebrated ICT industry players and investors, decision makers in Federal Government parastatalls, state and even local governments.
ICT Watch Network, organizers of ADF and ADA, has named the Chairman of the one-day occasion as Rt. Hon Rotimi Amaechi, the Governor of Rivers State, while the Special Guest of Honour is Rt. Hon Aminu Tambuwal, the Speaker of the House of Representatives.
The agenda setters at the forum include Dr. Eugene Juwah, the EVC/CEO of Nigerian Communications Commission; Peter Jack, the Director General of the National Information Technology Development Agency; and Prince Emeka Mba, the Director General of the National Broadcasting Commission.
The keynote speakers include Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola, the Governor of Osun State; Austin Okere, the Group Managing Director of CWG Plc; and Segun Ogunsanya, the Managing Director of Airtel Nigeria.
The event is slated for December 14, 2014 at the Sheraton Hotel and Towers, Ikeja, Lagos.
Time is 3pm.
The Chief host is Dr Ernest Ndukwe, while the the host Governor is Babatunde Raji Fashola (SAN) of Lagos State.
The event is being organized under the auspices of the Federal Ministry of Communication Technology.
The event consists of the Africa Digital Forum, where issues in the industry will be critically examined and solutions proffered, and the Africa Digital Awards would celebrate outstanding individuals that have contributed immensely to the growth and leveraged on the potent power of ICT to innovate and execute different ideas.
Panelists for the forum include Austin Okere; Chief Leo Stan Ekeh, the Chairman of Zinox Computers; Engr Emma Ekuwem, the Executive Vice Chairman of Teledom Group; Engr. Florence Seriki, the Group Managing Director of Omatek Ventures Plc; Engr. Lanre Ajayi, the President of ATCON; Engr. Gbenga Adebayo, the Chairman of ALTONl Engr. Bayo Banjo, the President of NIG; and Akinwale Goodluck, the Corporate Services Executive of MTN.
The ADA is the brainchild of Tayo Adewusi and his TV Network, which is watched on MITV, TVC, NTA, Focus Television on Cable and YouTube Channel.
For effective coverage of the unique and futuristic programme, the event is expected to be streamed live on the internet, Focus Television on Cable and the programme’s YouTube Channel.
According to Adewusi, several industry leaders have confirmed their attendance, while some state executives have also confirmed their participation.
Among those to be specially honoured will be Tambuwal, Amaechi, Aregbesola, Governor Tanko Al-Makura of Nasarawa State and Muiz Banire.
Others nominated for honours include Okere, Zinox, Omatek, MTN, Airtel, NBC, NCC, NITDA, Ekuwem and Banjo.