Reps approve extension of emergency rule in Adamawa, others

House of Reps

The House of Representatives on Wednesday in Abuja approved the extension of emergency rule in Adamawa, Borno and Yobe States for another six months.
President Goodluck Jonathan, in a letter dated November 5 to the National Assembly, sought an extension of emergency rule he declared in Borno, Yobe and Adamawa States on May 14.
This resolution followed a motion by the Majority Leader, Hon. Mulikat Akande-Adeola, which was unanimously adopted without debate after a closed-door meeting with the Chief of Defence Staff and service chiefs.
Akande-Adeola said the House on May 21 considered and adopted the report on the state of emergency (certain states of the federation) proclamation, 2013 by majority votes of 253.
She said by virtue of the provisions of Section 305 (6) (c) of the 1999 Constitution, the proclamation would elapse after a period of six months from the date of approval.
“Section 305 (6) (c) states that provided that the National Assembly may before the expiration of the period of six months aforesaid extend the period for the proclamation of the state of emergency,” she said.
According to her, the emergency rule will remain in force from time to time for a further period of six months by resolution passed in like manner.
Akande-Adeola said that following the efforts made so far by security agencies deployed to the affected states in curtailing the activities of insurgents, it was pertinent to extend the period of the rule.
The legislator stressed that the chief of defence staff and other service chiefs had briefed the House on the state of security in the affected states.
It would be recalled that the Senate on November 6 considered and approved the extension of the emergency rule in the three states.