Presidency speaks on planned US visa restrictions

The Presidency has described as mere speculations the reported planned imposition of visa restrictions on some African and Asian countries, including Nigeria, by the America’s government led by President Donald Trump.
The Senior Special Assistant to President Muhammadu Buhari on Media and Publicity, Malam Garba Shehu, stated this in a statement in Abuja on Wednesday.
The News Agency of Nigeria reports that some local traditional media organisations, including online publications, quoted foreign media outfits on Tuesday that the Donald Trump administration had concluded plans to add seven countries across the world, including Nigeria, to the country’s travel ban list.
The affected countries are Nigeria, Sudan, Tanzania and Eritrea from Africa, while Kyrgyzstan and Belarus from Eastern Europe and Myanmar from Asia complete the list.
Garba said: “Yes, we have read the news that the Trump administration is planning to add a host of African, Asian and Eastern European countries to its travel restrictions list as reported by the US media.
“We are not going to react to speculations.
“We urge you to wait for us to see what unfolds under the new policy, its scope, its reach, the implications and its consequences before we react.”