Jonathan, CJN, Okonjo-Iweala, Fayemi, Fayose, others under probe – EFCC

A report in The Punch newspaper has given the names of some high profile personalities in the country being investigated by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission.
The highly authoritative newspaper said top on the list of those being probed are the Chief Justice of Nigeria, Justice Walter Onnoghen; Governor Ayodele Fayose of Ekiti State; his predecessor and the current Minister of Solid Minerals Development, Dr. Kayode Fayemi; and the immediate past Minister of Finance, Dr. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala.
The names are said to be contained in the list of high-profile cases involving over 100 politically-exposed persons and top-ranking public officers still being investigated by the EFCC as of August 2017, which was obtained by The PUNCH on Monday.
The list was said to have been recently sent by the EFCC to the Attorney General of the Federation and Minister of Justice, Abubakar Malami (SAN), based on request.
The Punch is reporting that among other notable names on the list are the incumbent Governor of Kogi State, Yahaya Bello, and his predecessor, Captain Idris Wada.
Other former governors on the list include Godswill Akpabio of Akwa Ibom State, who is now the Senate Minority Leader; Jonah Jang of Plateau State, the Senator representing Plateau North Senatorial District; Senator Ali Modu Sherriff of Borno State, the sacked National Chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party; and Chief Lucky Igbinedion of Edo State.
Others include Dame Patience Jonathan, the wife of former President Goodluck Jonathan.
There are also some ministers who served in the Jonathan administration, including the Minister of Petroleum Resources, Diezani Alison-Madueke; AGF and Minister of Justice, Mohammed Adoke (SAN); a Minister of the Federal Capital Territory, Bala Mohammed; Minister of Aviation, Stella Oduah, who is now the Senator representing Anambra North Senatorial District; and a former Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, Godsday Orubebe.
Alison-Madueke’s husband’s name, Reaf Admiral Alison Madueke (retd), was also listed.
Former presidential spokesmen, Dr. Reuben Abati and Dr. Doyin Okupe are also on the list.
The Punch is reporting that other prominent high-profile persons on the list are a former Comptroller-General of the Nigeria Customs Service, Abdullahi Dikko; a former acting Chairman of the PDP, Uche Secondus; Colonel Bello Fadile (retd), who served under the immediate past National Security Adviser, retired Colonel Sambo Dasuki; the incoming Chief Judge of the Federal High Court, Justice Abdu Kafarati; and Justice Mohammed Tsamiya, who was recently retired compulsorily by the National Judicial Council.