The Nigerian Online Newspaper

Gov. Bello tasks appointees of zero tolerance on corruption

The Governor of Niger State, Alhaji Abubakar Sani Bello, on Wednesday called on government appointees to fight corruption as his administration has zero-tolerance for stealing.
Bello said this in his remarks during the swearing in of 14 Commissioners at the Government House, Minna.
According to him: “You must eschew divisive tendencies hinged on political, religious and ethnic coloration.
“For those of you who are fortunate to be returning after the dissolution of the last executive council, I feel you all need to work harder to uphold the confidence I have reposed on you that warrants your return.
“And for the new Commissioners, I assume you know that you have great task ahead in supporting us to deliver on our mandate with the people who voted us.”
Fourteen out of the eighteen names submitted to the State House of Assembly by the governor were cleared, while four still await screening and clearance.
Those sworn in included Mamman Musa for Water Resources and Dam Development; Fatima Madugu for Education; Muhammadu Adamu, Tertiary Education, Science and Technology; Nuhu Diku, Agriculture and Rural Development; Samaila Ibrahim for Youth Affairs; Zakari Bawa for Sports Development; Dr. Mustapha Jibrin for Health and Health Services; and Zakari Abubakar for Finance.
Others are Haliru Zakai Jikantoro for Local Government, Community and Chieftaincy Affairs; Barrister Nasara Danmalam for Justice; Ibrahim Balarebe, Works; Mohammad Mudi for Investment, Commerce and Industry; Idris Jibrin Amin for Environment and Forestry; Rahamatu Ya’Adua, Mineral Resources; Amina Gwa for Women Affairs and Social Development; and Engr. Ibrahim Panti.
The governor added that the Commissioner for Finance is to oversee the Ministry of Planning, that of Culture and Tourism Sunday Kolo is to oversee Ministry of Information, while Commissioner for Local Government Affairs is to oversee Ministry of Land and Housing and Commissioner for Agriculture is to oversee the Ministry of Livestock and Fishery.