EPL Player of the Year: Kante, Sanchez, Hazard make shortlist

Chelsea and Tottenham each have three players among the eight nominations for the Premier League Player of the Season award.

Chelsea midfielder N’Golo Kante is the favourite for the players’ prize, having already been named the PFA (Professional Footballers’ Association) Player of the Year and the FWA (Football Writers Association) Player of the Year.

Belgium international Eden Hazard and Spain full back Cesar Azpilicueta are the other Chelsea players on the list, having helped the club secure the league title.

The Blues’ London rivals Tottenham are represented by striker Harry Kane, midfielder Dele Alli and defender Jan Vertonghen.

Alli has also enjoyed personal success this year after he won the PFA Young Player of the Year award for the second season in a row.

Kane and Vertonghen have also been key members of the Spurs squad who missed out on the league title.

Arsenal striker Alexis Sanchez has been included; the Chilean has 10 assists and 21 Premier League goals in a season his side have struggled for form. 

Everton’s Romelu Lukaku, who currently leads the league’s scoring charts with 24 goals, makes up the list. 

Fans can decide who deserves the award from the eight-man shortlist by casting their vote before the May 17 deadline and it will be combined with those of a panel of football experts to determine the winner.

Chelsea secured the title on Friday and lead the table by seven points ahead of Spurs going into the final games of the season.