Delta State tops lists of athletes to Olympics Games

Delta State has the highest number of athletes that will represent Nigeria in the 2012 London Olympic and Paralympic Games.

Out of the total 78 athletes who have qualified to represent Nigeria in the two games, Delta State has 12 athletes that will participate in the Olympics.
The state is followed by Ogun and Ekiti States that have five athletes each for the Olympics.
The rest are Imo State – four, Edo, Cross, River and Bayelsa – three.
Abia, Anambra and Oyo have two each while Adamawa, Benue, Ekiti, Kano, Kwara and Lagos State have one athlete each making a total of 47 athletes for the Olympics.
For the Paralympics, out of 31 qualified athletes, Enugu State has the highest number of five athletes, followed by Oyo State with four athletes. Anambra and Imo have three each Abia, Delta, Edo, Ogun each have two athletes while Adamawa, Akwa-Ibom, Bauchi, Kwara, Nasarawa, Ondo, Osun and Rivers States have one athlete each in the Paralympic team.
On the whole, 22 states have athletes in the Team Nigeria for the Olympic/Paralympic Games.
They are Abia, Adamawa, Akwa-Ibom, Anambra, Bauchi, Bayelsa, Benue, Cross River, Delta, Edo, Ekiti, Enugu, Imo, Kano, Kwara, Lagos, Nasarawa, Ogun, Ondo, Osun, Oyo and Rivers States.  The remaining states, including the FCT, have no representatives.
Meanwhile, a breakdown of the athletes on gender basis shows that in the Olympics, Nigeria will be represented by 13 males and 13 females in athletics, making a total of 26 athletes.
Boxing has two males and one female.
Canoeing has one male while Table Tennis has two each.
Taekwondo will present only two male athletes while Weightlifting and Wrestling each will present one male and two female, respectively.
In the Paralympics, Para-athletics has five males and four females athletes, Para-Table Tennis has three males and Para-Power-lifting has eight males and eight females.
The Olympic Games will take place from July 27 to August 12, 2012 and the Paralympics will commence 21 days after the Olympics from August 29 to September 9, 2012.