Bayelsa: APC urges supporters to accept Supreme Court decision

The Bayelsa State Chapter of All Progressives Congress on Thursday urged the party members and supporters in the state to accept the Supreme Court judgment that sacked its governorship candidate, David Lyon, from being sworn in as governor.
Jonathan Amos, the Chairman of the party in the state, at a news conference, however, commended the people for voting for the APC in the November 16, 2019 governorship election.
Amos said with the dismissal of the party’s application by the apex court to review its earlier judgment on Wednesday, the party had exhausted the legal options.
He said: “We have no other option than to move on.”
The Supreme Court had on February 13, 2020 held that the APC Deputy Governor-elect, Degi Ereminyo, submitted forged documents, which made him and Governor-elect Lyon ineligible to contest the election.
The Independent National Electoral Commission in compliance with the judgment on February 14 issued a Certificate of Return to the Peoples Democratic Party candidate, Duoye Diri, who had since been sworn in.
The APC, however, in an application approached the apex court to review its judgment, which it dismissed and described as “frivolous”.
Amos condemned the violence that trailed the court’s decision and advised party supporters to follow the path of peace.
He said: “I express warm greetings from Chief David Lyon and the leadership of APC in Bayelsa.
“We thank the people of Bayelsa of voting age who sacrificed in their numbers to turn out to vote on the 16th of November, 2019.
“We are indeed specially honoured and humbled to have over 340,000 votes; that to us demonstrated the change matrix we all yearned and desired.
“Let me encourage all party faithful and Bayelsa people to accept the decision of the Supreme Court in good faith.
“They should embrace peace and love.
“As a party, we must unite to uphold peace to leverage on the love extended to us by the people of Bayelsa as clearly demonstrated on the election day on November 16, 2019.”