Battle for Shooting Stars chairmanship gathers momentum


After months of intensive lobby, the Oyo State government is set to name the management board for Shooting Stars Sports Club of Ibadan.

In spite of wide opposition to his candidacy as Chairman of the yet to be named board, the former Secretary General of the Nigeria Football Association, Taiwo Ogunjobi, is still favoured to grab the job.

Prior to his adventure in the Abuja Glass House Secretariat of the NFF, Ogunjobi, who is currently the Chairman of Osun Football Association, had served in various capacities in Shooting Stars.

Also in the race for the seat is a former Chairman of the club, Elder Bode Oyewole.

Oyewole, a veteran journalist, led the club to double glory in the 1998 season.

The decision to name a management board was necessitated by the directive to all the Club owners by the Nigeria Premier League board on the need for proper management to be constituted within two weeks.

In the absence of management board, the state Commissioner for Sports, Dapo Lam Adesina, has been running the affairs of the club.

This was after the sack of the Joseph Ladipo-led board.