9th National Assembly: North Central Governors, Chairmen endorse Lawan, Gbajabiamila

The Governors elected on the platform of the All Progressives Congress and party state chairmen from the North Central geopolitical zone on Thursday endorsed the two candidates of the party for the leadership positions in the 9th National Assembly.
While the leadership of the party, led by President Muhammadu Buhari and the National Chairman, Adams Oshiomhole, endorsed Senator Ahmad Lawan for the position of the President of the Senate, Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila was favoured to emerge as the Speaker of the House of Representatives.
The Plateau State Governor, Rt. Hon. Simon Lalong, disclosed the position of the North
Central leaders of the party to newsmen after a closed-door meeting of stakeholders from the zone at the Plateau State Governor’s Lodge in Asokoro, Abuja.
Addressing newsmen, Lalong said: “A meeting of governors and the party chairmen from North Central today resolved to go along with the decision of the party’s endorsement of Senator Ahmed Lawan as Senate President and Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila as the Speaker of the House of Representatives for the 9th National Assembly.
“Since it was a party affair, our decision was in line with the wish of the party and that is why we the governors and state chairmen of our party from the zone are in support of the decision of the party.”
When asked what the zone stands to gain in the power sharing formula, Lalong said: “We are still deliberating.
“We have not exhausted the positions with respect to zoning.
“Our decision and position are only on two issues, while the rest deliberations are ongoing.
“There is going to be a continuation of our meeting in respect of positions to the North Central with both Mr. President and the party.”
The meeting, which lasted for more than one hour, had in attendance Lalong; his Niger State counterpart, Alhaji Abubakar Sani Bello; Nasarawa State Governor, Alhaji Umaru Tanko Almakura; and Benue State APC governorship candidate, Barrister Emmanuel Jime.
State APC Chairmen in attendance were Engr. Jibrin Imam of Niger State; his Kogi State counterpart, Alhaji Abdullahi Bello; Nasarawa State’s Philips Shekwo; Chief Letep Dabang of Plateau State; Comrade Abba Yaro of Benue State; as well as the FCT’s Abdullahi Usman.