The Nigerian Online Newspaper

See the list of those who signed notice of Ndume’s removal as Senate Leader

The Eagle Online has obtained the list of senators who signed the letter sent to the Senate for the removal of Senator Ali Ndume as the Leader of the Senate.
The Eagle Online recalls that Ndume was on Tuesday removed by the caucus of the All Progressives Congress in the Senate as their leader.
He was immediately replaced with Senator Ahmed Lawan.
The list was contained in the Senate’s Votes and Proceedings of Tuesday.
It contained the names of 39 senators in favor of Ndume’s removal.
The senators that signed Ndume’s removal were Senator Dino, Melaye, Senator Ibrahim Abdulahi, Senator Magnus Abe, Senator Babajide Omoworare, Senator Suleiman Nazif, Senator Tayo Alasoadura, Senator Jibrin Barau, Senator Rafiu Adebayo, ‎Senator Gbenga Ashafa, Senator Baba kaka Garbai, Senator Tijjani Kaura, Senator Ubali Shitu, Senator Shehu Sani, Senator Yusuf Yusuf and Senator Monsura Somonu.
Other included Senator Kabiru Marafa, Senator Benjamin Nwajumogu, Senator Suleiman Hunkuyi, Senator Kabiru Gaya, Senator Mallam Wakili, Senator Ahmad Sani, Senator Sabo Mohammed, Senator Ahmad Lawan, Senator Lanre Tejuoso, Senator David Umaru, Senator Binta Garba and Senator Abdullahi Gumel‎.
It was gathered that Senator Melaye was commissioned by the “power that be” to collate the signatures of the senators who passed the vote of no confidence ‎on Senator Ndume.
The Eagle Online was told by a competent source that the signatures were collected during Tuesday’s plenary without Ndume noticing the move.
He was said to be in the Red Chamber when the signatures were collected.
However, even before the signatures were collected, the letter had been written and the content as read by the ‎Senate President, Dr. Abubakar Bukola Saraki, was almost the exact one put in the Votes and Proceedings of the Senate for the day.
The one read on the floor by Saraki on Tuesday stated: “This is to inform Your Excellency and the Senate that after several meetings held on Monday, 9th of January, 2017, and upon due deliberation and consultation, the APC Caucus of the Senate, hereby wish to notify you of the change in the leadership of the Senate that the new Senate is now Senator Ahmad Lawan, representing Yobe North Senatorial District.‎”
The letter in the Notice of Proceedings stated: “This is to inform Your Excellency and the Senate that, after several meetings held on Monday, 9th January, 2017, and upon due deliberation and consultations, the All Progressives Congress Party (APC) caucus of the Senate hereby wishes to notify you of our resolution of VOTE OF NO CONFIDENCE on the Senate Leader and the immediate change in the leadership of the Senate; that the new Senate Leader be and is now Senator Ahmad I. Lawan representing Yobe North Senatorial District of Yobe State.”