Justices Abang, Liman, seven others redeployed

The redeployment was contained in a circular addressed to all judges of the court

The Federal High Court has redeployed 11 judges.
Among those redeployed were Justice Mohammed Liman of the Port Harcourt Division of the court and Justice Okon Abang of Abuja Division.
The redeployment was contained in a circular addressed to all judges of the court.
While Liman was moved to Enugu Division, Abang is to function from now in Asaba Division.
Other judges affected by the transfer include Justice S. Saidu (moved from Lagos to Port Harcourt), Justice A. O. Faji (from Asaba to Lagos), Justice R. M. Aikawa (Sokoto to Lagos), Justice B. O. Quadri (from Port Harcourt to Abuja) and Justice Mallong Hoommuk (from Port Harcourt to Lafia).
Also moved were Justice K. K. Dagat (from Lagos to Kano), Justice Saleh Idrissa (Kano to Sokoto), Justice H. I. O. Oshomah (from Lafia to Port Harcourt) and Justice J. K. Omotosho) from Kano to Port Harcourt.
The Chief Judge of the Federal High Court, Justice Ibrahim Auta, who signed the redeployment memo, did not give any reason for the exercise.
Auta only attributed it to “the recent developments in the court.”
The circular said the postings would not affect the criminal cases the redeployed judges are currently handling.
It said: “In view of the fact some divisions are currently short of judge following the recent developments in the court, it has become necessary to take urgent steps to fill in existing vacancies.
“Affected judges are expected to resume in their new divisions by January 30, 2017. The judges shall continue with the hearing of criminal cases currently before them, as well as at least two witnesses have testified.”