Daylight online newspaper holds maiden edition of Annual Leadership Awards

According to a statement by the Publisher/Editor-in-Chief of the reliable online publication, Azuh Amatus, who is also the Chairman and Founder of the awards scheme, the star-studded list is made up of 15 worthy and eminently qualified Nigerians

The board and editors of leading online newspaper, Daylight, have released the honourees list for the maiden edition of its Daylight Annual Leadership Awards, 2016.
The “high-octane” ceremony holds on May 22 at the Civic Centre, Victoria Island, Lagos, amid glitz and grandeur, the organisers said on Monday.
According to a statement by the Publisher/Editor-in-Chief of the reliable online publication, Azuh Amatus, who is also the Chairman and Founder of the awards scheme, the star-studded list is made up of 15 worthy and eminently qualified Nigerians.
Azuh further added that the aim of the awards is to recognise, reward and celebrate excellence among Nigerians who have excelled immensely in various leadership positions and equally impacted positively on our nation in both public and private sectors.
The distinguished recipients include the wife of the Kebbi State Governor, Hajiya Aisha Atiku Bagudu, who goes home with a plaque as Daylight Woman of the Year.
Bagudu is being celebrated for her invaluable contributions to the less privileged in our society with her self-funded NGO, Mallpai Foundation, with which has done extensive humanitarian works in Northern Nigeria and beyond for almost a decade.
Also to be honoured is presidential spokesman, celebrated journalist and newspaper administrator extraordinaire cum leader, Femi Adesina.
Adesina, a two-time president of the Nigerian Guild of Editors and former Managing Director/Editor-in-Chief of The Sun Newspapers, will be decorated as Daylight Newspaper Most Outstanding Media Personality of the year.
The immediate past Director General of the National Broadcasting Commission, Emeka Mba, will be garlanded with the biggest award of the evening, the Daylight Newspaper Person of the year.
Cerebral and meticulous Mba is being recognised, rewarded and celebrated for his giant strides and unmatchable developmental initiatives during his brief but historic stint at the NBC.
Among other laudable achievements, Mba boldly championed the transition from analogue to Digital Switch Over in the nation’s broadcasting sector, expected to be fully implemented in 2017.
Showbiz impresario and founder of leading events and entertainment haven, Coliseum Events Centre, Ken Calebs Olumese, was unanimously picked as the recipient of the Daylight Newspaper Life-Time Achievement Award.
This is in appreciation of his immense contributions to that sector in a remarkable and successful career spanning over three decades.
Famous thespian trio of Stephanie Okereke-Linus, Chinedu Ikedieze (Aki) and Osita Iheme (Pawpaw) will be serenaded with special recognition awards as Daylight Newspaper Nollywood Persons of the year.
While talented Okereke is being recognised and decorated for the huge success and global accolades recorded with her runaway success film, Dry, the duo of Aki and Pawpaw are equally being celebrated and honoured for being unarguably the biggest exports out of Nollywood.
The trio, who have also been consistent with their careers, are no doubt the most visible brands in Nollywood in the year under review.
For bringing back vim and verve on TV screens with her exciting You and I programme, iconic Nollywood diva, Monalisa Chinda-Coker, will proudly walk home with the Talk Show Host of the year trophy.
Another worthy recipient is leading Abuja-based top lawyer and fiery columnist, Barrister Sam Kargbo, who won the Most Outstanding Columnist of the year (Law and National Development), for his nationalistic approach to issues of national interest.
Again, the multi-talented trio of Okey Bakassi, Raw Nwanne and Yaw will be presented with special recognition awards as Daylight Newspaper Comedian, Musician and Radio Personalities of the year respectively.
The honour is in appreciation of their great contributions to the various sectors they represent as leaders and role models.
Undoubtedly, for changing the nation’s aviation industry for good, the billionaire founder of Air Peace, Chief Allen Onyema’s company will be decorated as the Airline of the Year.
Soundcity boss and leading content provider on TV, Tajudeen Adepetu, is the proud recipient of the Entertainment Person of the year diadem.
The well deserved honour is in appreciation of his unmatched developmental strides in the nation’s entertainment sector, where he is a key player and dominant force.
Fast rising actress and lawyer, Angel Ufuoma, who is one of the hottest new generation stars in Tinsel town, will be crowned with Nollywood Most Promising Actress of the year.
Meanwhile, the green and white carpet of the epoch event starts at 4pm, with paparazzi in abundance.
Shedding more light, Azuh said: “DALA honourees are leading role models that have equally aided national growth and development with their leadership roles and God’s given talents. We are profoundly proud of them, appreciate and hold them in high esteem.”